Gone

You are crying, screaming and howling, but no tears, not a single movement can hatch from your plastic-infused botoxed mask. You look present to an inexperienced passer-by, but you are fading. You are ethereal, transparent and absent; absent as I am from your life and your thoughts; your blank thoughts that could not retain me with any kind of magic superglue or sheer will. I am gone. Gone. I erased myself from everything that had you even close to its existence and now I can stop holding my breath, I can be weak and alone and start healing.

9 Comments »

  1. Jelena Said:

    This piece was published last October as one of Minor Implosions. Now it has rotated off and lives in the Minor Implosions archive. I got the permission to publish it here.

  2. j guevara Said:

    Intense. unambiguous. determined. well said, Jel.. Leaves no doubt in this reader’s mind; the relationship is through. Great pic to go with it, too.
    j

    • Jelena Said:

      Thank you, j!

      I am quite proud of how the image turned out, considering my limited Photoshop/Gimp abilities. I wanted to make a pic that would complement the piece. I am glad you noticed that!

  3. “but you are fading. You are ethereal, transparent and absent; absent as I am from your life and your thoughts; your blank thoughts that could not retain me with any kind of magic superglue or sheer will.” < What a line birhday girl Jelena … what a line!

    Pull off the mask! Pull off the mask! Find each other again!
    (( Whoops — you know me and Happy*Endings. )) … This piece haunted at the heart of the psyche and the esteemed Mr Guevara saw too, how your photo choice kept up the cold and the eerie. ~ Absolutely*Kate

    • Jelena Said:

      Dear Kate, I love happy endings, too! :) (And strong characters.)

      P.S. I somehow managed to publish this just before my birthday, accidentally, all because it took me some time to fix that image… I know, so silly!

  4. poch peralta Said:

    This is sad (again!). I think you’re really melancholic Jelena.
    I hope you don’t really feel this way :-)

    • Jelena Said:

      Oh, no, my friend, I am never melancholic, not at all. And this is only fiction. :) BTW, I did not intend this to be sad. The main character has moved on, isn’t that nice?

  5. David Barber Said:

    Nice work Jelena. I did have a link to you on my blogfeed but for some reason I missed your last few posts. I will endeavour to sort this problem out. :-)

  6. Erin Cole Said:

    A creepy piece pierced with hope- excellent writing and I especially enjoyed your new piece at NS, “Burn Me Farewell”, very raw and poetic.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

